Markevitch; Seefried, Forrester - Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms (DVD)

Markevitch; Seefried, Forrester - Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms (DVD)

Code: 4301


Normally: $34.95


Product Description


A major retrospective of the legendary conductor, featuring Markevitch leading the Orchestre de Radio-Canada in Beethoven, Brahms, Mozart and Rossini. Bonus selection: Irmgard Seefried sings Schubert's "Die Forelle" (CBC telecast of August 24, 1961).
B&W, 116 minutes, 4:3, All regions

Telecast of February 5, 1959
Rossini: Overture to La Cenerentola
Mozart: L'amerò, sarò costante (Il Re Pastore) *
Mozart: Deh vieni, non tardar (Le nozze di Figaro) *
Mozart: Per pièta (Cosi fan tutte) *
Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68 "Pastorale"

Telecast of February 7, 1957
Brahms: Alto Rhapsody, Op. 53 **
Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98

*Irmgard Seefried, soprano
**Maureen Forrester, contralto
Orchestre de Radio-Canada
Igor Markevitch, conductor