Start page A letter from the president of VAI Our contact information Search our database Inspect your cart or check out Download a print catalog



Mahler: Symphony No. 2
Susanne Mentzer
Twyla Robinson

Neeme Järvi conducting
Musicians from:
NY Philharmonic
Philadelphia Orchestra
New Jersey Symphony
Detroit Symphony
Metropolitan Opera Orchestra

Czech Phil Orch Gala Concert:
Mozart & DvorŠk

Velvet Revolution Concert
Beethoven Ninth Symphony
Václav Neumann

Karl Ancerl & Hermann
Scherchen Conduct

Chicago Symphony
Orchestra Series 

Szell, Munch, Monteux, Reiner,
Stokowski, Hindmith

Roberto Abbado
New Year Concert 2008
- From the Teatro La Fenice

Sir John Barbirolli
Barbirolli Conducts BSO

Sir Thomas Beecham

Karl Böhm
Karl Böhm & Jon Vickers

Britten, Benjamin
with Peter Pears

Britten: War Requiem

Sir John Elliot Gardner
New Year Concert, 2010
-From the Teatro La Fenice

Järvi, Neeme
- 70th Birthday Jubilee

Järvi, Neeme
Conducts Mahler

Järvi, Neeme
Conducts Strauss

Josef Krips

Leinsdorf Conducts BSO

Igor Markevitch

The Art of

Monteux Conducts BSO

Munch Conducts BSO, 1966
Munch Conducts BSO, 1962

Václav Neumann
Antonín Dvorák: Concertos

Georges Prêtre
New Year's Concert 2009

Leopold Stokowski
Tchaikovsky, Beethoven

Igor Stravinsky
Igor Stravinsky at 85

George Szell

Bruno Walter

Sir Thomas Beecham in Montréal
VAI DVD 4230, $29.95

Sir Thomas Beecham (1879-1961) was one of the most venerated and celebrated conductors of his time. Though he was renowned for his rapier-style wit, Sir Thomas was a serious, extraordinarily gifted musician who illuminated even overly-familiar works with his own magical light.

Sir Thomasís television appearances were, surprisingly, largely limited to North America. His concerts were captured by cameras in Chicago, Toronto, and Montréal, but, apparently, only once in his native country. The Montréal concert, which took place in 1956, is the earliest of Sir Thomasís television appearances. The original kinescope, which was thought to be lost, was recently rediscovered and restored to the Montréal studios of Radio-Canada.

This historic document, comprised of music of the two composers closest to Sir Thomasís heart, is of major importance both to Beecham collectors and to all lovers of great music. Video Artists International is proud to have played a part in its rediscovery and release.

George Frideric Handel (1685-1759),
Amaryllis Suite (based on ballet music from Handel operas) 15:54
arr. by Beecham

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Vorrei spiegarvi, oh Dio, K.418 5:49
Voi avete un cor fedele, K.217 5:36
with Maria Stader, soprano

Symphony No. 38 in D, "Prague," K.504
I. Adagio - Allegro 10:09
II. Andante 9:25
III. Presto 4:06

Orchestra Symphonique de Montréal
Sir Thomas Beecham, conductor

Telecast of March 22, 1956

58 minutes, CANADA, 1956, Black & White
Licensed by the Société Radio-Canada ©1956 (All Rights Reserved)
Packaging and Design ©2001 Video Artists International, Inc.
Cover photo courtesy of Roger Gross

Copyright © 2000 and 2001, Video Artists International & VAI Audio, All Rights Reserved