Mahler: Symphony No. 2
Susanne Mentzer
Twyla Robinson

Neeme Järvi conducting
Musicians from:
NY Philharmonic
Philadelphia Orchestra
New Jersey Symphony
Detroit Symphony
Metropolitan Opera Orchestra

Czech Phil Orch Gala Concert:
Mozart & Dvorák

Velvet Revolution Concert
Beethoven Ninth Symphony
Václav Neumann

Karl Ancerl & Hermann
Scherchen Conduct

Chicago Symphony
Orchestra Series 

Szell, Munch, Monteux, Reiner,
Stokowski, Hindmith

Roberto Abbado
New Year Concert 2008
- From the Teatro La Fenice

Sir John Barbirolli
Barbirolli Conducts BSO

Sir Thomas Beecham

Karl Böhm
Karl Böhm & Jon Vickers

Britten, Benjamin
with Peter Pears

Britten: War Requiem

Sir John Elliot Gardner
New Year Concert, 2010
-From the Teatro La Fenice

Järvi, Neeme
- 70th Birthday Jubilee

Järvi, Neeme
Conducts Mahler

Järvi, Neeme
Conducts Strauss

Josef Krips

Leinsdorf Conducts BSO

Igor Markevitch

The Art of

Monteux Conducts BSO

Munch Conducts BSO, 1966
Munch Conducts BSO, 1962

Václav Neumann
Antonín Dvorák: Concertos

Georges Prêtre
New Year's Concert 2009

Leopold Stokowski
Tchaikovsky, Beethoven

Igor Stravinsky
Igor Stravinsky at 85

George Szell

Bruno Walter

Start page A letter from the president of VAI Our contact information Search our database Inspect your cart or check out Download a print catalog

Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C minor “Resurrection”
VAI DVD 4432, $ 24.95

Jason Starr, producer/director of the superb documentary on Mahler’s Symphony No.3, What the Universe Tells Me, has now turned his attention to Mahler’s great Symphony No.2 “Resurrection”. For this production, he has enlisted a “super-orchestra” comprised of musicians from the New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, New Jersey Symphony, Detroit Symphony and the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra. His outstanding soloists are soprano Twyla Robinson and Mezzo-soprano Susanne Mentzner joining the New York Choral Artists and Riverside Chorale, all under the exciting direction of Maestro Neeme Järvi.

This is a Mahler Second of unsurpassed demonstration quality, shot in High Definition, presented on this DVD release in 16:9 widescreen format, Standard Definition, and in Surround Sound. All regions.

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 2 in C minor,

Susanne Mentzer, mezzo-soprano
Twyla Robinson, soprano

Neeme Järvi conducting
Musicians from the New York Philharmonic
Philadelphia Orchestra • New Jersey Symphony
Detroit Symphony • Metropolitan Opera Orchestra

New York Choral Artists • Riverside Chorale
Joseph Flummerfelt, Chorus Master

Filmed in Riverside Church

Color, Dolby 5.1 Surround /DTS Digital Surround
Shot in High Definition
Running time: 91 minutes

Chapter selection:

1. Introduction: “For the Love of Music”
2. Opening credits
3. I. Allegro maestoso
4. II. Andante moderato
5. III. In ruhig fliessender Bewegung
6. IV. “Urlicht”
7. – 8. V. Im Tempo des Scherzos — Chorus entrance
9. Closing credits

Producer and Director

Concert Producer

Audio Director

Lighting Director

We are grateful to Martha Nussbaum for permission to use her translation of the German text in the optional English subtitles.
Other translations by Cesár Dillon (Spanish), Fiorella Sampirisi (Italian), and Aude Seigneur (French)



Copyright © 2000 and 2001, Video Artists International & VAI Audio, All Rights Reserved