Josef Szigeti Plays Tartini, Prokofiev and Beethoven (DVD)

Josef Szigeti Plays Tartini, Prokofiev and Beethoven (DVD)

Code: 4269



Product Description

Joseph Szigeti's reputation was particularly exalted among his fellow violinists. Eschewing virtuosity for the sake of virtuosity, Szigeti was always completely at the service of the music. Szigeti visited CBC's Montreal studios on three separate occasions and those performances are gathered on this DVD release. Though Szigeti was already in his 60s when these performances were filmed, the qualities in his playing so cherished by his admirers are readily apparent.
B&W, 72 minutes, 4:3, All regions

TARTINI Violin Concerto in D Minor
HUBAY Czardas No. 3 for violin and orchestra
Orchestre de Radio-Canada
Wilfrid Pelletier, conductor

BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto in D Major: I. Allegro ma non troppo
Orchestre de Radio-Canada
Paul Scherman, conductor

PROKOFIEV Sonata for violin and piano No. 2 in D Major
Arthur Balsam, piano