BSO, Monteux (1959) - Brahms, Hindemith, Stravinsky (DVD)

BSO, Monteux (1959) - Brahms, Hindemith, Stravinsky (DVD)

Code: 4316



Product Description

The beloved French conductor was closely associated with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, but only one of his performances with the orchestra has been preserved on film. In this 1959 telecast, Monteux conducts the music of Brahms, Hindemith and Stravinsky. The Stravinsky work, Petrouchka, premiered in its original form as a ballet, in Paris, in 1911. Monteux was the conductor for that world premiere, hence this video has particular historical significance.
B&W, 80 minutes, 4:3, All regions