ARIADNE AUF NAXOS Sills; BSO, Leinsdorf (1969) (DVD)

ARIADNE AUF NAXOS Sills; BSO, Leinsdorf (1969) (DVD)

Code: 4363


Normally: $34.95


Product Description


Beverly Sills, in the role of Zerbinetta, triumphs over the formidable challenges of perhaps the most difficult coloratura role ever written, and Claire Watson is ideal in the title role of Ariadne in this latest installment in VAI’s series of historic telecasts from the archives of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. This legendary 1969 concert performance marked the US premiere of the original 1912 version of the opera. The orchestra is under the direction of the BSO’s Music Director Erich Leinsdorf, and the cast also includes Robert Nagy, John Reardon, Benita Valente, Carole Bogard, and James Billings. Subtitles in English, French, German, and Italian.
Color, 93 minutes, 4:3, All regions

ARIADNE AUF NAXOS (Original 1912 Version)
Opera in One Act
Music by Richard Strauss
Libretto by Hugo von Hofmannsthal

CAST (in order of appearance)
Najade: Benita Valente
Dryade: Eunice Alberts
Echo: Carole Bogard
Ariadne: Claire Watson
Harlekin: John Reardon
Zerbinetta: Beverly Sills
Truffaldin: Malcolm Smith
Brighella: John Ferrante
Scaramuccio: James Billings
Bacchus: Robert Nagy
M. Jourdain: Andrew Raeburn (speaking part)

Boston Symphony Orchestra
Erich Leinsdorf, conductor

Originally telecast on January 7, 1969