Järvi, Estonian NSO - Tobias: Jonah's Mission (DVD)

Järvi, Estonian NSO - Tobias: Jonah's Mission (DVD)

Code: 4539



Product Description


A majestic and dramatic oratorio by the father of Estonian classical music, Rudolf Tobias (1873-1918). The libretto, assembled by Tobias himself, ingeniously unites texts from the Book of Jonah with verses from a wide range of scriptural sources. Thanks to the brilliant efforts of the pianist and musicologist Vardo Rumessen, a restored version of Jonah’s Mission (Des Jona Sendung) was given its premiere in 1989. This live 2008 performance by the Estonian national Symphony Orchestra is under the direction of the world-renown Estonian conductor Neeme Järvi. Sung in German; subtitles in English, German, and Estonian.
126 minutes, color, stereo, 16:9 Widescreen, All regions.

Jonah’s Mission (Des Jona Sendung)
Oratorio in five scenes set to biblical texts
For five soloists, two mixed choirs, children's choir, organ and orchestra
Music by Rudolf Tobias (1873-1918)
Edited, revised and arranged by Vardo Rumessen

Pille Lill, soprano
Merle Silmato, alto
Juhan Trall, tenor
Rauno Elp, baritone
Johann Tilli, bass

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Estonian National Male Choir and Women’s Choir
Estonian National Opera Boys’ Choir and Voces Musicales
Neeme Jarvi, conductor