Paul Tortelier: The Complete Musician (DVD)

Paul Tortelier: The Complete Musician (DVD)

Code: 4570


Normally: $34.95


Product Description


An intimate profile of the musical life of cellist Paul Tortelier (1914-1990), one of the twentieth century’s most esteemed musicians. In addition to the documentary, the DVD features single-camera performance footage of complete concerti by Elgar (with the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande under the direction of Armin Jordan), Dvořák, and C.P.E. Bach, as well as Tchaikovsky’s “Rococo Variations” and encore pieces from Tortelier’s suite “Mon Cirque.” In the documentary, Tortelier is seen in master classes, in rehearsal, and private settings, sharing his profound philosophies on music and life.
Color, 184 minutes (documentary: 52 minutes; performances: 132 minutes), 4:3, NTSC (Playable all regions)

The performance footage on this DVD was videotaped using a single camera. The close-up view of Tortelier provides an indispensable learning tool for string players, and offers a unique perspective for all viewers of one of the world’s great cellists.

C.P.E. Bach: Concerto for Cello No. 3 in A major, H.439 (Wq.172)
Paul Tortelier, cello
Zürich Chamber Orchestra; Edmund de Stoutz, conductor
(Uitikon, 1988)

Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto in E minor, Op.85
Paul Tortelier, cello
Orchestre de la Suisse Romande; Armin Jordan, conductor
(Geneva, 1988)

Antonín Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor, Op.104
Encore - Paul Tortelier: Three movements from Mon Cirque
Paul Tortelier, cello
Collegium Musicum Basel; Albert E. Kaiser, conductor
(Basel, 1989)

Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33
Encore - Tortelier: Four movements from Mon Cirque
Paul Tortelier, cello
Zürich Symphony Orchestra; Daniel Schweizer, conductor
(Zürich, 1989)