Van Cliburn in Moscow, Vol.4 (DVD)

Van Cliburn in Moscow, Vol.4 (DVD)

Code: 4455



Product Description

The celebrated pianist Van Cliburn achieved legendary status overnight after winning the First International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow in 1958. This landmark DVD series marks the first time that Cliburn’s performances on Russian television have been made available to the international public. Volume 4 is the first to present Cliburn in solo recital, featuring three works that figured largely in his repertoire.
Live performances: 1960/1972. B&W, 86 minutes, 4:3, All regions

Brahms Handel Variations, Op. 24
Prokofiev Sonata No. 6 in A major, Op. 82
Rachmaninoff Sonata No. 2 in B-flat minor, Op. 36 (Original Version)

Van Cliburn, piano
Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory
Live performances: 1972 (Brahms, Prokofiev); 1960 (Rachmaninoff)