The Art of Emil Gilels (DVD)

The Art of Emil Gilels (DVD)

Code: 4373



Product Description

The cameras vividly capture pianist Emil Gilels' remarkable control and intricacy of technique in performances that hold the audiences spellbound with their poetry, color, intensity and virtuosity. Gilels performs Bach's Prelude and Fugue in D major, arranged by Busoni; two works by Mozart - the Fantasia in D minor, K397, and Sonata in A minor, K310; and Prokofiev's Scherzo and March from The Love of Three Oranges (Montreal, 1971). The other work is Tchaikovsky's First Piano Concerto in a concert from 1969, provoking a volcanic reception.
Color/B&W, 70 Minutes, 4:3, All regions