Emil Gilels in Concert: Grieg, Beethoven (DVD)

Emil Gilels in Concert: Grieg, Beethoven (DVD)

Code: 4472



Product Description

One of the greatest pianists of the twentieth century, Emil Gilels (1916-1985) possessed a fearless technical facility and a highly cultivated tone control that freed him to follow his interpretive instincts. In this program, Gilels plays two masterpieces of the concerto repertoire: Grieg’s Piano Concerto and Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3. Both works are conducted by Paavo Berglund, leading the Philharmonia Orchestra in the Beethoven and the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra in the Grieg. Live performances, Finlandia Hall, Helsinki, 1983 (Grieg) and 1984 (Beethoven).
Color, 86 minutes, 4:3, All regions