Vienna Philharmonic: Sir Georg Solti (1964) (DVD)

Vienna Philharmonic: Sir Georg Solti (1964) (DVD)

Code: 4565



Product Description


Sir Georg Solti leads the Vienna Philharmonic in an historic concert featuring works with which Maestro Solti was closely associated: Concerto for Orchestra by Béla Bartok, Sinfonietta by Leoš Janacek, and Don Juan by Richard Strauss. This is the first in VAI’s new series of Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra concert DVDs featuring preeminent conductors. Upcoming releases will spotlight such legendary conductors as George Szell and Karl Böhm.
77 minutes, 4:3, NTSC (Playable all regions)

Leoš Janáček: Sinfonietta (21:28)
I. Allegretto — Allegro maestoso (Fanfare)
II. Andante — Allegretto (The Castle, Brno)
III. Moderato (The Queen's Monastery, Brno)
IV. Allegretto (The Street Leading to the Castle)
V. Andante con moto (The Town Hall, Brno)

Richard Strauss: Don Juan, Op. 20 (16:39)

Béla Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra (35:42)
I. Introduzione. Andante non troppo – Allegro vivace
II. "Presentando le coppie". Allegretto scherzando
III. "Elegia". Andante non troppo
IV. "Intermezzo interrotto". Allegretto
V. Finale. Presto

Wiener Philharmoniker / Vienna Philharmonic
Georg Solti, conductor
Live concert, June 7, 1964
Wiener Festwochen / Theater an der Wien